Opening film
2020,United Kingdom, documentary,
85 min,
In this feature length film, acclaimed director Werner Herzog travels the globe on a journey to understand his friend - adventurer and legendary writer Bruce Chatwin.
A German film director, screenwriter, author, actor, and opera director, regarded as a pioneer of New German Cinema. His films often feature ambitious protagonists with impossible dreams, people with unique talents in obscure fields, or individuals in conflict with nature. He is known for his unique filmmaking process, such as disregarding storyboards, emphasizing improvisation, and placing the cast and crew into similar situations as characters in his films.
Director, screenwriter: Werner Herzog
DOP: Louis Caulfield, Mike Paterson
Editor: Marco Capalbo
Composer: Ernst Reijseger
Producers: Lucki Stipetic, Steve O'Hagan
Production: BBC Scotland, BBC Studios, BBC Two
Director, screenwriter:
1968 «Signs of Life»
1970 «Even Dwarfs Started Small»
1974 «The Enigma of Kaspar Hauser»
1976 «Heart of Glass»
1977 «Stroszek»
1979 «Nosferatu the Vampyre»
1982 «Fitzcarraldo»
1984 «Where the Green Ants Dream»
1987 «Cobra Verde»
1991 «Scream of Stone»
2001 «Invincible»
2005 «The Wild Blue Yonder»
2006 «Rescue Dawn»
2009 «Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans»
2009 «My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done»
2015 «Queen of the Desert»
2016 «Salt and Fire»
Short filmography
Fiction feature films
Documentary feature films
1969 «The Flying Doctors of East Africa»
1971 «Handicapped Future»
1971 «Land of Silence and Darkness»
1974 «The Great Ecstasy of Woodcarver Steiner»
1976 «How Much Wood Would a Woodchuck Chuck»
1984 «Ballad of the Little Soldier»
1985 «The Dark Glow of the Mountains»
1989 «Herdsmen of the Sun»
1990 «Echoes from a Sombre Empire»
1991 «Jag Mandir»
1992 «Lessons of Darkness»
1993 «Bells from the Deep»
1994 «The Transformation of the World into Music»
1995 «Gesualdo: Death for Five Voices»
1997 «Little Dieter Needs to Fly»
1998 «Wings of Hope»
1999 «My Best Fiend»
2003 «Wheel of Time»
2004 «The White Diamond»
2005 «Grizzly Man»
2007 «Encounters at the End of the World»
2010 «Happy People: A Year in the Taiga»
2011 «Into the Abyss»
2012 «Dinotasia»
2016 «Into the Inferno»
2018 «Meeting Gorbachev»
2019 «Nomad: In the Footsteps of Bruce Chatwin»
2020 «Fireball: Visitors from Darker Worlds»